Sara Stars

trying to be creative ever day…

Graphic Two Tier Cake with Cake Crystals® and Fondant Bow

leave a comment »

I have admired beautiful tiered cakes forever.  I always wanted to make one.   My sister was throwing a fashion show birthday party for my niece and I thought that was the perfect occasion to try out my skills…or lake of cake decorating skills… I don’t know how to use the icing bag that well, so I needed to design the cake without any piped icing requirements.  I had found these Cake Crystals® online, and they were an absolute requirement for my design.  Here is the result:

Graphic Cake with Cake Crystals and Fondant Bow

Graphics, Cake Crystals and Fondant!

Brief synopsis of how I did this:

I purchased these fabulous Cake Crystals®, they were the catalyst for the inspiration…

I found these  Edible Image® Designer Prints™ and I thought they would give a lot of style to my cake, without me having to cut out intricate fondant, I also noted how the designers used these prints on fondant update it a little.

I watched several videos on YouTube.

How to add a 2nd Cake Layer


Thank you ExpertVillage

Assembling a Wedding Cake – I watched several videos on how to make a two tier cake, but I got the most out of this one.


Thank you Epicuriousdotcom!

How to Smooth a Cake – Now this one I watched about 10 times to get the technique, my Iphone sat next to me on the counter and I referenced it over and over again!!


Thank you SeriousCakes (You should check out her YouTube vids they are so good!)

Again, armed with my iPhone, rolled fondant, ruler and pizza cutter…I referenced the CakeBoss’s blog post: How to Make a Fondant Bow

Written by sarastars

August 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

