Sara Stars

trying to be creative ever day…

Spooky Halloween Birthday Parties, Invites, Cakes and More!

leave a comment »

I love it that my daughter’s birthday is in the early part of October, we get to celebrate Halloween all month.  This post is dedicated to Halloween Birthday’s.  I would love to see your creations and ideas, as I expect that I will need new inspiration each year!

Last year, I built the Spooky Halloween Birthday theme around this great batty girl image that I found on istockphoto.com.  My daughter absolutely loved this bat girl vector art, and we used it as the catalyst for her party.  The invites were a square format and I used Paper Source’s – Petal Envelope in grape (upon checking the link I found out they are on sale – 50% off!), then I mounted the white square invite on Paper Sources poppy 5×5 notecard (also on sale!).  I used Martha Stewart’s black sticker that read “Beware” to close up the invite, and Paper Source’s poppy file folder labels for the name’s and addresses.  The font I used is Carnivalee Freekshow.  I scanned in the invite below, the colors aren’t quite true…but if you use the links that I have included in this post you will get stunning results and the “ah” factor when your guests open it.

Batty Girl Halloween Birthday Invite

That day we actually had two birthday parties, the kids one first and the adult later.  For the kid’s Halloween Birthday Party I had my bakery: Its All About the Cake in Dana Point CA,  make cupcakes with white icing and black and purple bats cutout of fondant.  The evening cake was one of Diane’s masterfully designed cakes, she is truly an artist.

Batty Girl Halloween Birthday Cake

I scrapped this invite together 4 years ago.  Once I scrapped the one invite, I scanned it.  Once the image was scanned, I bumped up the contrast and the saturation, to get the blacks, really black and the other colors to be intense.  Then I just printed them to 4×6 glossy photo cards, and used black envelops.

Halloween Birthday Invite

Halloween Birthday Invite

Written by sarastars

September 29, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Leave a comment